二〇一〇 極地日誌:錯誤的冰塊

  • 行動紀錄/八頻錄像
  • 21:37
  • 2010

這件作品是參加由美國「土地藝術科學基金會」在2009年所舉辦的北極圈藝術旅行計畫,全部影片於挪威Spitzbergen以及台北兩地拍攝完成。 

2009年10月我們一群藝術家與科學家乘坐一艘帆船在Spitzbergen這座島嶼四處落腳,並各自執行著自己的研究與計畫。在一次顛簸的夜航裡我思考著,在這樣極端與陌生的條件下,我到底可以從其中發現些什麼,並揭開這環境中「隱形的系統」,對我來說,答案正如同生物在北極環境裡的密度和能見度。去回應暖化在這裡產生的影響,還不如撈起一塊浮冰品嘗它的溫度與滋味,或者親自站在冰河前,用你來自亞熱帶的體溫融印出自己的身形,最困難的反而是用藝術家的角度,去詮釋那些科學家正努力解疑的環境問題。經常在登陸時看到前一夜北極熊與雪狐到此一遊的掌印,心想著我們這群外來者要以適當的方式介入這裡是何等地困難──一艘滿載著食物與用水的帆船,帶著懷抱希望與好奇的人們來到這裡,在盡量在不干擾環境,與不被北極熊威脅的前提下,進行創作與研究──突然間,這個突兀的畫面閃過我眼前,而讓我感覺到荒謬至極。

切斷與人造都市的連結,我們像是人類社會分派出來的一個小組,在這個微型的船艙社會裡依舊維繫著來自城市的資源與社交活動,船艙外自然界的肉弱強食與劇烈的環境改變,在這層脆弱的膜衣保護下顯得平靜與安詳。維繫著這個社群的脈絡,來自我們手中可靠的生存技術與知識,在導遊的一再叮嚀下大家謹守規則不讓悲劇發生,我很快地發現到這些極地生存的知識,原來就是那道最前面也是最後的防線,離自己再近也不過,你動也不動就可以看得到寬容度的邊界已在腳下。 

在這裡極端環境的意義並非單指緯度和氣候,更多的是學習如何與這個環境互動的過程以及它的方法。不過,說是互動其實也言過其實,大自然的結界早將我們區隔在環境的表淺區塊,要與它交手其實還言之過早;穿越這道界限可以不需要勇氣,但一定需要運氣,但同時也意味著,某種無法掌握的未知正逼近你而來。我懷疑除了人類總體活動對這裡所產生的影響外,藝術創作真正能夠和極地環境交手的機會到底在哪裡,是拍幾張照片,或者堆幾顆雪球,把城市裡的把戲帶去那裡,以為這樣就可以嫁接起這座橋樑?後來想想,我們只不過是極地餘暉下所映照出來的影子罷了,等待下一場風雪來臨將所有痕跡煙滅;而這些不同形式的作品最後造就的會是誰,結果又會以何種形式反饋於這裡?

或許整趟旅程裡真正能夠顯現的是,Spitzbergen這座極地之島就是一面鏡子,隨著航行的軌跡勾勒出每個人心中對於這裡的期許或失落,並斷斷續續地映射出人類文明價值對應於極端環境所顯現出來的模糊輪廓,大家用自己所懷抱的信念在此試探著自己的極限,從支離破碎的環境資源裡,蒐集建構用以支撐這個框架的所有需求,並用力維持著這個輪廓,等待下一個永畫裡不易察的變數與無常。 

不過,在永夜來臨前的餘暉真正消失之前,眼前這個微型社群依然活力旺盛,我們從事著自己手邊的工作,在這個大自然提供的壯麗舞台上,懷抱著浪漫,汲取靈感來豐富自己!

個展 

2018 「當代日常習作」,崔廣宇個展,双方藝廊,台北,台灣

2012 「極地日誌:錯誤的冰塊」崔廣宇個展,台北當代藝術館,台北,台灣

 

聯展 

2016 「生態作為動詞」,第35屆阿索洛電影藝術節,阿索洛市Eleonora Duse 劇院,義大利

2016 「Taiwan Videa 2.0:文化秘遇」 台灣前衛影像展,第35屆阿索洛電影藝術節,阿索洛市 Eleonora Duse 劇院,義大利

2013 「真真:當代超常經驗」,臺北市立美術館,台北,台灣

2012 「台灣報到」2012台灣美術雙年展 ,國立台灣美術館,台中,台灣

2011 「當代國際錄像藝術對話」,國立台灣美術館,台中,台灣

2011 「極端經驗」,Osage 畫廊,廣東,中國

2010 「2010 台灣當代藝術論壇雙年展」,台北當代藝術中心,台北,台灣

2010 Arctic Diary: The Wrong Ice

  • Action Video / Eight Channel Video
  • 21:37
  • 2010

This work was produced for the 2009 Arctic Circle expeditionary residency program organized by the U.S. Farm Foundation for the Arts & Sciences (FFAS). The film was shot on location in Spitzbergen, Norway and in Taipei, Taiwan.

In October of 2009, our group of artists and scientists set sail for the island of Spitzbergen, where each of us embarked upon our specific projects and research plans. On the tossing nighttime voyage I wonder just what I can discover in these extreme and alien conditions, and whether or not I can uncover the “invisible system” within this environment. For me, it is as fleeting and impalpable as the living organisms in the arctic climate. Rather than trying to respond to the effects of global warming – there is really little we can do – it’s better to scoop up a piece of floating ice and savor its temperature and taste, or stand at the front of a glacier and imprint a silhouette in the ice with the heat of your subtropical body; in any case, the most difficult thing is to interpret from an artist’s point of view the environmental problems scientists are working to resolve. Coming ashore we often see the paw-prints left by roaming polar bears and snow foxes the night before, and I think about how hard it will be for us outlanders to find the appropriate means of interposing ourselves in this place – a sailboat loaded with food and water bearing a group of people brimming with hope and curiosity, who are trying their utmost not to disturb the environment or provoke a polar-bear attack as they carry out their scientific and creative projects – suddenly, this strange scene flashes before my eyes, leaving me with a sense of the utmost absurdity.

Cut off from manmade urban environs, we are like a task force sent out by humankind. In the community of this tiny cabin we are still bound by the resources and social activities of the city; outside the cabin, the fierce and predatory natural world is changing, but within the protection of this fragile membrane all is quiet and serene. Our reliable knowledge and survival skills hold this community together. As our tour guide repeatedly exhorts us to abide by the rules to prevent tragedy, I quickly discover that knowledge and skill are our first and last lines of defense in this polar region, and that the borderline between safety and danger is always just underfoot.

Here, extreme environment doesn’t merely refer to latitude and climate; to a greater extent it is learning the process and method of interacting with this region. But it’s really going too far to say that we can truly interact with this place. Mother Nature long ago relegated us to the most superficial segments of the environmental world, and it is still too early for us to engage the arctic hand to hand – one doesn’t need courage to cross this boundary, but luck is absolutely necessary, yet that also means that an ungraspable unknown is fast approaching. I wonder where, aside from the influence of collective human activities on this region, are the opportunities for artists to come to terms with this polar environment? Take a few snapshots or pack a couple snowballs? Bring our urban games here and feel that in this way we are building a bridge between the two worlds? We are only shadows cast by the polar twilight, awaiting the next blizzard that will erase all traces of our passing. And who, finally, will be the one who creates these different forms of works, and in what way will the environment give us feedback? 

Perhaps the expedition in its entirety will show us that Spitzbergen, this polar island, is a mirror following the path of the voyage, reflecting the hopes and disappointments in the hearts of each of the voyagers, intermittently revealing the values of human civilization set against the indistinct contours of this icy region. We test our limits with our most closely held convictions, collecting material from among the sparse environmental resources to support the framework we are constructing here, striving to maintain its structural integrity as we await the coming of the next arctic summer with its nearly undetectable variables and changes. 

Nevertheless, before the twilight fades into long arctic winter night, this tiny community of artists and scientists remains full of vitality, each of us attending to the work at hand. On Mother Nature’s majestic stage, we embrace romanticism and enrich ourselves with inspiration!

SOLO EXHIBITION

2018 "Exercise Living",  Solo Exhibition by K. Y. Tsui, Double Square Gallery, Taipei, TW

2012 "Arctic Diary: The Wrong Ice", Solo Exhibition by K. Y. Tsui, Museum of Contemporary Art, Taipei, TW

 

GROUP EXHIBITION

2016 "Eco as a verb", 34th Asolo Art Film Festival, Eleonora Duse Theater in Asolo, Veneto Region, IT

2016 "Taiwan Videa 2.0: Cultural Enounter", 35th Asolo Art Film Festival, Eleonora Duse Theater in Asolo, Veneto Region, IT

2013  "True Illusion Illusory Truth Contemporary Art", Taipei Fine Art Museum, Taipei, TW

2012 "YES TAIWAN" Taiwan Biennale 2012, National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, Taichung, TW

2011 "VIDEONALE", Dialogue in Contemporary Video Art, National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts Gallery, Taichung, TW

2011 "A Lesson of Extremes", Osage Gallery, Kwun-Tong, CN

2010 "2010 Forum Biennial of Taiwanese Contemporary Art", Taipei Contemporary Art Center, Taipei, TW