隱形城市:台巴黎‧約克

  • 四台螢幕同步播放錄像
  • 05:03
  • 2008

這件作品延續2006年「隱形城市」的系列,這次回到台灣試圖從這裡的環境裡尋找轉換現實的潛在可能,或許也可以說,這種轉換早已發生,並潛藏根植於這個不同文化交融的環境裡以一種風景明信片般的圖騰樣態出現。或許是文化的崇拜,或許只是無意義的拷貝,自由女神、艾菲爾鐵塔、凱旋門…, 在台灣四處充滿著從異國移植的文化符碼中,我利用這些存在於城市裡的現成場景,以戲劇性的情境模擬將這些場所塑造成異域的風景,而這種異國的氛圍極可能就是它們之所以存在於此的某種理由,從一個原本看似世界某各角落的人物場景,隨著鏡頭逐漸後退遠離,最後真相顯現於眼前的是一個紛擾的台灣都會街景;原本在艾菲爾鐵塔前擁吻的情侶原來只是在台北街頭因視覺角度誤認的一對寵物與飼主,而沈浸在紐約欣賞浪漫夜景的情侶原來只是一家牆上掛著紐約夜景照片的餐廳裡打掃的員工;一切都是誤會。

透過一個讓人誤解的情境,我試圖提問這些異國城市場景的存在與當下生活圈之間的關聯,並橋接起存在於現實與異國情調在人們心中所抱持的寄託與嚮往,我們真正能從此獲得的大概就是在它們前面拍一張照,或是利用它的名氣來做些什麼…,這種明信片式的符號移植看似方便地去除了兩地空間的差異,卻同時製造出另一個更大的落差,一種漂浮在我們生活周遭缺乏線索的真空,無論我們從什麼角度切入都只能看到這個真空泡泡與環境間的不協調。這多多少少反應一個全世界都在發生的事情,由這些不連續的片段事實與場景集結所造就出來的當下生活模式,一個利用現成物拼接出來的生活圈,而拼接與拼接之間的縫線在商品、消費、與媒體等等所塑造出的需求中被隱匿,並隨著全世界的互通有無來填補這些因文化差異而出現的縫隙,或者說是增添更多脈絡上的空洞。去思索如何轉換這些外在現實與心境也許並沒有辦法提供一個更輕鬆的方式去適應這個環境,只是從一個不用想太多且意義連貫的生活過渡到另一個充滿想像卻由無數的隱瞞修飾而交織出的荒謬世界,打破了一顆蛋發現裡面還是另一顆蛋…,或者我們必須說服自己用誤解的角度穿梭於這種想像真實與現實真實之間,才算是知覺地對應到我們所處的環境。

個展

2018 「當代日常習作」,崔廣宇個展,双方藝廊,台北,台灣

 

聯展

2018 「顛倒之城」,2018台北白晝之夜,光點台北,台北,台灣

2018 「2018巴黎白晝之夜」,巴黎傷兵院,巴黎,法國

2016  「生態作為動詞」,第35屆阿索洛電影藝術節,阿索洛市Eleonora Duse 劇院,義大利

2016 「Taiwan Videa 2.0:文化秘遇」 台灣前衛影像展,第35屆阿索洛電影藝術節,阿索洛市 Eleonora Duse 劇院,義大利

2015  「文化碰撞 穿越東北亞」,香港藝術中心,香港,中國

2013  「交叉口 ∙ 異空間」兩岸四地藝術交流計畫(2013),何香凝美術館,深圳,中國/ 澳門藝術博物館,澳門,中國 / 高雄市立美術館,高雄,台灣/ 香港大會堂,香港,中國

2012 「移動中的邊界:台灣—以色列,跨文化對話」,赫茲利亞當代藝術博物館,特拉維夫,以色列

2011 「外掛X附加:兩城市端點的預演」,The Rag Factory,倫敦,英國

2011 「後民國­-沒人共和國」,高雄市立美術館,高雄,台灣

2011 「窗口」,大未來耿畫廊 內湖 TKG,台北,台灣

2011 「錄像台灣」,法國北部加萊地區當代藝術基金會 FRAC,敦克爾克,法國

2010 「台灣響起-難以名狀之島」,匈牙利路德維格現代美術館,布達佩斯,匈牙利

2010 「今日 • 當代台灣」台灣當代藝術展,韓國慶南道立美術館,昌原,韓國

2009 「Extra/Ordinary: Video Art from Asia」,Spencer 美術館,堪薩斯,美國

2009 「領土主義 4」當代藝術旅行計劃,托斯卡尼,義大利

2009 「日常的史詩 台灣當代錄像」,那不勒斯當代藝術中心,那不勒斯,義大利

2009 「隱形城市」,「實驗室」/ 都柏林市議會,都柏林,愛爾蘭

2009 「大幻影」,國家中正文化中心/國家音樂廳文化藝廊,台北,台灣

2008 「台北—貝魯特—馬德里—柏林—伊索拉」,伊索拉藝術中心,米蘭,義大利

2008 「二〇〇八 台北雙年展」,台北市立美術館,台北,台灣

Invisible City: Taiparis York

  • Video synchronized, play with 4 LCD
  • 05:03
  • 2008

This work is a continuation of the Invisible City series developed in 2006. Redirecting his focus to his home country, Kuang-Yu TSUI attempts to find possibilities to transform the reality in Taiwan, a country that melds different cultures. In a way the transformation has already taken place in the form of photogenic tourist attractions. Could these attractions be a kind of cultural worship, or are they merely a meaningless act of imitation? These transplanted cultural symbols including the Statue of Liberty, Eiffel Tower, Arch of Triumph adorning various cities through out Taiwan are turned into exotic scenic attractions in dramatic simulations staged by the artist. Perhaps the very reason for these attractions to exist is the exotic atmosphere they could offer. Beginning from a close shot, the viewer is led to believe that the scene is set against a famous international tourist attraction. As the camera pulls away, however, the viewer is surprised to find that the scene is in fact located in a local city of Taiwan. Thus, a couple kissing passionately in front of the Eiffel Tower turn out to be a pet and his owner in the streets of Taipei; a man and a woman immersed in romantic atmosphere in a night out in New York ended up to be restaurant helpers working in front of a photograph of the Big Apple. It is all a big misunderstanding. 

By staging these deceptive performances, the artist attempts to question the association between the existence of these exotic sites and the environment we inhabit while bridging the reality and the hopes and yearnings people harbour for exoticism. Perhaps the biggest benefit that these sites offer is a chance for us to take photographs or take advantage of their fame to do something. Contrary to conveniently closing the distance between Taiwan and other countries, these transplanted symbols have in fact created a gap far greater than assumed. They exist in a floating, vacuous state, lacking any meaningful clue. The discord between this vacuous bubble and the actual environment is blatant from every perspective. This perhaps is reflective of a phenomenon found in different corners of the world--a mode of present life collectively formed by discontinuous fragments of reality and exotic sites, or a patchwork of life consisting of ready-made products. Meanwhile, the seams between the patches are concealed by demands shaped by commodities, consumerism and media, and the crevices resulted from cultural differences are sealed by cultural exchanges. This, however, is only generating more holes in the overall context. It may not be possible to find a light-hearted approach to adapt to this kind of environment by seeking ways to change the reality or our frame of mind, as it would only be transiting from a life with connected meanings to an absurd world made of concocted imagination yet filled with numerous concealments. It is like breaking an egg only to find another egg inside. Or, alternatively we could move freely between the ambiguous space of imagined reality and the actually reality by convincing ourselves to accept the fact that everything is meant to be misleading. This is, perhaps, the only way to perceptively correspond to our existing environment.

SOLO EXHIBITION

2018 "Exercise Living",  Solo Exhibition by K. Y. Tsui, Double Square Gallery, Taipei, TW

 

GROUP EXHIBITION

2018 "Upside Down City", 2018 Nuit Blanche Taipei, SPOT Cinema, Taipei, TW

2018 "Blanche 2018 à Paris", Esplanade des Invalides, Paris, FR

2016 "Eco as a verb", 34th Asolo Art Film Festival, Eleonora Duse Theater in Asolo, Veneto Region, IT

2016 "Taiwan Videa 2.0: Cultural Enounter", 35th Asolo Art Film Festival, Eleonora Duse Theater in Asolo, Veneto Region, IT

2015 "Familiar Otherness: Art Across Northeast Asia", Hong Kong Arts Centre, Hong Kong, CN

2013 "Crosseroads Another Dimension", A Cross-Strait Four-Regions Artistic Exchange Project 2013, He Xiangning Art Museum, Shenzhen, CN / Macao Museum of Art, Macao, CN / Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts, Kaohsiung, TW / Hong Kong City Hall, Hong Kong, CN

2012 "Boundaries on the Move Taiwan –Israel a Cross-culture Dialogue", Herzliya Museum of Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv, IL

2011 "Plug in x Add on: A rehearsal of potential connection between two cities", The Rag Factory, London, GB

2011 "Republic without People", Kaohsiung Museum of Fine Arts, Kaohsiung, TW

2011 "Window", TINA KENG Gallery, Taipei, TW

2011 "VIDEO Taïwan", FRAC Nord-Pas de Calais, Dunkerque, FR

2010 "Taiwan Calling-Elusive Island", Ludwig Museum-Museum of Contemporary Art, Budapest, HU

2010 "Today of Taiwanese Art", Gyeongnam Art Museum, Changwon, KR

2009 "Extra/Ordinary: Video Art from Asia", Spencer Museum of Art, Kansas, U

2009 "Territoria #4", a traveling project of contemporary art, Tuscany, IT

2009 "The Epic in the Everyday-Contemporary Video Art from Taiwan", PAN / Palazzo delle Arti Napoli, Napoli, IT

2009 "Invisible Cities", The LAB / Dublin City Council, Dublin, IE

2009 "The Great Illusion", The Culture Gallery in National Concert Hall, Taipei, TW

2008 "TAIPEI–BEIRUT–MADRID-BERLIN-ISOLA", ISOLA Art Center, Tantrika Shop, Via Pollaiuolo 2 / Soundmetak, Piazzale Segrino 1, Milano, IT

2008 "Taipei Biennial 2008", Taipei Fine Art Museum, Taipei, TW